Two Paths

28

Two Paths

We drive around until finally we end up in the middle of the forest, then the car stops. The driver opens the doors, we get out of the car and around us is the most beautiful scenery I could ever imagine. Francis grabs my hand an begin to leads me through the forest. I start to hear music, then we come across a beautiful waterfall that seems magical. The rainbows, the butterflies, the waterfall, and the music just made everything seem to perfect. “Wow this is impressive and all of this just for me,” asked Alex? “Well it’s not everyday I get to eat lunch with a princess, besides I really wanted this date to be something that we could remember forever,” said Francis.

We walk hand and hand to a table set up right in front of the waterfall, as we sit down the food appears out of nowhere. I can’t help but smile, magic is amazing and even more Francis. “You know, this waterfall is rumored to have the power of love,” said Francis. “What do you mean love, don’t tell me we have to go skinny dipping in order for this power of love to work,” said Alex. “No, we just have to kiss in front of the waterfall and we’ll be in love forever,” said Francis. “Sorry, but I like to fall In love the old fashion way,” said Alex. “So what you’re saying is, that your afraid to fall in love with me,” said Francis. “Please, I’m not afraid of anything,” said Alex.

Francis takes my hand and as we stand in front of the waterfall, Francis leans in to kiss me, everything goes still. I see Francis and myself standing at the altar, on our wedding day and everyone is happy, including Francis and I. The same day, the same vision but instead of Henry it’s Francis. There are no dark figures, everything is perfect and happy but it’s not right. I now know I have two paths but only one can be the right one? There’s just so much love with Henry but with Francis there’s an adventure but I can also feel with every word and action Francis does there’s a darkness behind it. I can’t walk down that dark path with him, no matter how drawn I am to him he’s not the one and I see it now. Francis is an illusion, a dream that will lead me down a path I don’t want to be on.

I pull away from Francis just before our lips can touch, “sorry but our time is up and I should get going if I’m going to make it to my next date,” said Alex. We walk back to car in silence, as I begin to get in the car Francis stops me. “Did I do something to upset you,” asked Francis? “No, you just helped me realize something that I couldn’t realize on my own,” said Alex. As I sit in the car watching the trees pass by I think about Francis. Going on that date with him made me realize that no matter how perfect a guy my seem no one will ever compare to Henry and whether my future be bad or good, it will be with Henry.

5 thoughts on “Two Paths

  1. I am touched by our story, I had tears – I adore your post ” “Two roads diverged in a wood, and I –
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference.”

    I am in good hopes you will join my blogs / post, this means a lot to me, I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

